Hisomu Reo

After Goal Extravaganza!

Post by Hisomu Reo »

I know it's a bit early, but I figure that as we are building to the peak some people might want to share/get feedback on goal ideas. Obviously, there is time to go and things can change a lot in terms of priority, feasability and interest. Still, i think it might be worthwhile to workshop ideas, especially if there is interest in communal goals.

Off the top of my head, I've been tinkering with an Advanced School and would appreciate feedback
Has been gutted, see later for newest version
Last edited by Hisomu Reo on Tue Nov 14, 2023 1:12 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Archer | Kakita Tribe | Spider Clan| Bad Limp | Not a People Person | Healer | Experienced 1
Yumi with lots of arrows, Light Armor, Medicine Kit, Mortar and Pestle, finger of Jade

Wu Zhe

Re: After Goal Extravaganza!

Post by Wu Zhe »

Well hello there! I am no expert on L5R but this advanced school seems far too powerful. I apologise if I come out wrong.

The +2k2 on void is powerful but limited to a selection of skill might balance it. The inclusion of Iaijutsu does indicate that in a duel you'll get a consistant +2k2 on all three rolls which already makes it a great school for duelists.

the second bug me at the
or a contested Etiquette/Awareness check for a PC. Is successful, gain that character (or another appropriate member of their group) as an Ally with 1 pt devotion. Additional raises may be called for additional points of devotion.
I am not a fan of mechanics dictates pc actions

The first part of the last rank is also incredibly powerful but the 10k10 appears to me like an 'I win' button. Take a rank of luck and you are guaranteed victory. Using that with the rank two ability allows for the creation of incredible allies. The only 10k10 substitution that I know of is a mantis advanced school and it's only for navigation which is a far, far more niche skill then the combinaison of Iaijutsu, courtier, awareness and etiquette.